2016/5-9 Leggins

Otto #9, 5/2016

I just had to know. Had to know if the alterations I made to Otto #11 5/2016 would be standard for all Otto pants. It would be wonderful, I think, to know that every time I trace an Otto pant, I can make the same corrections and achieve the same excellent fit.

So with that in mind, I traced #9, 5/2016,

patternpiece

the one-piece leggins in the size I used last, 48. (Otto recommends a 44 for me but I like more ease). I’m getting the hang of Peggy Sager’s fitting method and so I think CLD.  Circumference.  Well I did that by choosing the size.  Next L length. Judging from the last pant (Otto #11 5/2016), I make a .75″ tuck (1.5″ total length removed) just above the knee.  Now I’m working on Depth.  First depth change is at the hip.  Oh, this is one piece. Can I make the dart just from CB to an imaginary side seam?  It worked better (the end result was flat instead of crumpled) to slash all the way across from CB to CF; make the 1/2″ (total removed 1″) dart at the CB which automatically tapered to nothing by the time it reached CF. Next depth change I need to make is at the top of the inseam.  A 1″ dart needs to be made on the back inseam zeroing at the side seam; and repeat on the front. Oops. Cant’ do that.  I end up with a tent. Yes folding out a dart that zeros where I imagine a side seam to be (instead of where there really is one) on both front and back inseams creates a tent in my pattern.   I can’t smash it down. Oh it goes down but it’s a crumpled mess not a flat pattern. Can’t make a dart at the top of the inseam. How about a tuck?  That removes L (length) but does not effect D (depth). This needs to be a D change at the top of the inseam. I could slice from hem upwards and create a two piece leg.  Don’t want to. I want a 1 piece leggin.  I see no other possibilities.

I already have a Kwik Sew pattern to make long johns. Since what I’m doing will produce the same pattern as my Kwik Sew, I crumple all the tissue and toss into the trash. Until I get smarter.

I have to admit that the experience made me think back to other one-piece pants patterns that I’ve attempted and some off-the-record advice received. .  On rare occasions I can fit them in the mirror but later can’t sight of myself and wonder why they look so bad.  It’s because I’m curvy. I need more places to adjust for my curvy body. Other curvy women have commented that they never have true success with this type pattern. They need seams and darts to look their best.

I  made this quick blog post so that in the future if I’m tempted to use this pattern again, I will say “been there, didn’t do that because it won’t work” and I won’t waste my time.

 

2 thoughts on “Otto #9, 5/2016”

  1. What is basically a ‘one piece’ trouser is never going to have much shape on its own – and no way to make it work on a three dimensional body in a good way. Unless they are to be lycra leggings I find these are best avoided – but well done for trying Bev.

    1. Thanks Kim. In retrospect, I should have realized that without going through the paper exercise. Hope this is the last time I have to learn the lesson.

      Bev

Comments are closed.