11202-MSS

Shorts for Summer 6PAC

Apologies for crappy photo. I know the shorts look better on my matronly body. But the temps are still cool. I simply wasn’t going to model these at 58 degrees.

The fabric is 100% cotton; a remnant from the rose Brown pants made a few weeks ago.  I used Louise cuttings MSS pants shortened to just above the knee.  Oddly, shorts never develop any of the wrinkles that long pants do on me. Well, I think it’s odd. This is the pattern that I folded out 1″ ease from the front and add 2″ ease to the back. These pants are therefore 1″ wider at the hem and over the thigh/leg than the designer intended. I like the full leg on shorts. It’s breezy. Lots of air circulation.  Air circulation is good during the summer.

Usually when I want shorts, I fold up the legs of the last pattern fitted. I made so many of these last year that I traced a separate pattern just for shorts and altered the leg to my preferred length.  This pair of shorts was incredibly easy and fast.  Those last 4 rows of stitch along the elastic get boring. But then it so satisfying to see the elastic draw up and assume the proper shape as I pass the steam iron over the finished pant. Easy. Quick. Fits. TNT’s are worth the effort.

1 thought on “Shorts for Summer 6PAC”

  1. I’d meant to comment on your PBA post, but took too long tracking down the precise references…..

    Kathy Ruddy’s “One pattern, many looks” class includes a lesson on this adjustment. It’s in Lesson 3, “Refining the Fit,” Chapter 2, “Seat Fullness Adjustments.” I pricked up my ears about this because the full bust adjustment is my major fitting issue, but I haven’t had a chance to try it on the backside (as it were) yet.

    I have two of the Silhouette Patterns pants patterns, which also feature this alteration, and they also await testing this summer. The Silhouette Patterns bodice is great for me, and I have high hopes for the pants, but you never can tell. (I’m the other side of the fitting coin–I have a terrible time fitting tops and jackets, but pants are not such a big deal.)

Comments are closed.