sdBev's Pants!

Ridiculously Pleased

Posted on: November 21, 2013

When you saw my photo you either said “She’s ridiculous to be pleased”  or “She’s made so many better pants. Why is she pleased at all?”

I nearly ruined these pants.  No kidding at one point I thought I had made a wadder and I knew it was my fault.

I set out to “check” the CLA and waistline adjustments I’d made to the last pair of Eureka pants.  Then I decided that I wanted to add pockets.  Pockets are so handy.  When I’m first fitting a pants pattern I don’t like to use the pocket pieces.  My own experience has been that a pocket can change or disguise fitting issues. But now, with a couple of  good pairs in the closet, I want to add pockets for the pattern.

The back fits better than the front.

I also decided I needed to start adding real winter fabrics to the closet.  The temperatures are decreasing daily and we’ve already had our warning storm. (Usually sometime in Oct, Mother Nature warns us that winter is coming by unexpectedly dropping snow in all our yards.  That’s already happened. Twice and three times in some parts of SD.)  From the stash, I selected a grey moleskin.  I like to wear moleskin in the winter.  It is a beefy fabric and the 100% polyester is good a deflecting wind and rain.  Its satin back ensures any garment will slip over whatever undies I’ve decided are necessary for the day (when it’s 30 below you want layers and layers of thermal undies).  Generally moleskin has a tiny bit of stretch which also makes it a good choice because it enhances movement. But it can be a devilish fabric to sew with and, late last winter, I had one pair of moleskin pants that, despite a measured 10% stretch, I couldn’t sit when wearing.

So combine a forgotten 1″ seam allowances, a can-be-temperamental fabric, and a desire to add pockets where none have been before and the stage is set for disaster.  I decided to use the pocket Kathy Ruddy shares during in her Craftsy Class.  It is a pocket opening in the shape of a D cut out along the side seam, which is finished and then a pocket back is stitched to the pant front and behind the finished opening.  I’ve designed similar pockets myself.   Now Kathy makes no bones about this. She copied the design from a RTW garment. You cut the little D shape out of the side seam; roll that edge under and top stitch.   Did I mention, every moleskin I’ve used ravels horribly?  Well this one was no exception, so I didn’t just roll the edge under, I serge finished it first. Then I tried to roll under and top stitch. It wouldn’t roll. I had this ugly, wavy, terribly uneven cut out along the edge.  Then I realized, that didn’t matter anyway because I had forgotten about the 1″ seam allowances.  The pocket opening, that D, would be entirely within the seam.

After a head slap and an Oy Vey, I decided I should go ahead and check the fit.  Well the D was not entirely but mostly within the side seam.  There was a largish 2-3″ along the side seam that was not basted as I tried on the pants. The back looked fine, but I kept looking at the front and thinking could it really be the small unsewn areas that made the front look so bad?  I had no choice but to finish the pockets.  I did the typical side slant pocket opening.  It was sort of large because I needed to get rid of the failed D pocket opening.  I used bias tape to finish the pocket edge and as originally planned fixed a pocket back but not a bag to the pant front behind the pocket opening. (You’ve got to sew to understand).  Now I  measured and cut carefully. I want you to know that.  I also placed the pocket back carefully into place and fused it there with Steam A Seam; before double top stitching the pocket to my pant front.  I did both pockets. They were well secured when I realized somehow the pocket back had slipped at the side seam and was 1″ lower than it should have been.

I was totally shocked.  How could that happen?  I swear I was careful with each step of the pocket.  I fused because the fabric was slippery and I didn’t want the pocket to slip out of place during stitching.  I don’t know about you, but the SAS I buy is difficult to remove.  Once I’ve fused something in place, removing it is nearly impossible.  I’m more likely to spend hours wrecking the project.  I don’t have enough fabric to cut a second front.  I have to fix this or toss it.  So this is where this pair of pants almost became a wadder.  I aligned the front and back pants at the hem, knee and widest hip. I smoothed as best as possible from the widest hip up to the waist and had some of the back just dangling in air.  I basted side seams from hem to waist. (Zipper, inseams and crotch were previously permanently stitched).  Then I basted the waistband angling it across the top of the pant as smoothly as possible.  I tried the pants on. Holy cow, this was going to work!  I basted the side seams another 1/4″ in and decided this was good and enough.  I finished the pant and called it wearable (See first two photos. I think I’m as good as anybody else in the bank line).

I won’t make any changes to pattern based on these pants.  The back is really not all that bad.  I wish it were a bit tighter across the bum.  I do like a pant that smoothly flows over the rear and down to the floor. But this the  flowing that is “old lady butt”  instead of “healthy behind” flow.  I didn’t want to take-in the seam allowances any more because I was beginning to feel a little pulling as I sat down.  Above all else, I must be able to sit while wearing my pants.

My side seam is leaning backwards and I think the waist is rising in the front. I didn’t make any effort to correct the issues.  I figure the problem  was caused by my pocket application.  Besides, looking at the first two pictures in this post, I’m pretty sure no one is going to see the problems.  I also forgot how badly that kind of pocket opening can gape.  During construction, I stitched it into place using water soluble thread. During construction the pocket opening set nice and close to the body.  When everything was done, I spritzed the pocket opening with water; removed the WSS and took  pictures. That’s when the pocket opening gapped.  Fortunately as I normally dress (Pic 1 and 2 again), I think it’s not likely to be noticed.

If the front didn’t bag at the inseam knee, I’d say these pants are fine. Yes I wish they’d enhance my butt just a little better.  But they are the right length. No VPL, no nasty fitting issues  There is less excess fabric over the back thigh.  I’d like to reduce that a little more, but I am pleased with my progress.  I added belt loops this time.  The Stretch Velvet pants which fit beautifully at home, stretched at the waistline while out and about.  It was really annoying to be pulling up my pants through-out the day.  I was in public, far from home. It was really, really annoying. With belt loops, that won’t happen again.  (I will say I was surprised at this wear issue and blame it squarely on the fabric.  The other pairs of Eureka’s pants never do that to me and I wore the Grey Eurekas during that trip.) But back to this pair, I made the waistline a non-issue.

I have already worn these pants.  I’m pleased to say they were comfortable. They may not be “the perfect pair” but they are good and enough for all my activities.

6 Responses to "Ridiculously Pleased"

Like you said – all things considered – they are wearable. The back is great. Front looks too big – I’m sure it’s the fabric. go figure!

Oh yes, Marcia. The fabric ruins more garments. I’ll think I have a pattern perfectly fit. Use a different fabric and have to spend hours trying to change it into something wearable. I’m sure that’s why so many current day sewists are quilters and crafters instead of dressmakers.

Good save Bev. I love your comment that ‘I think I’m as good as anybody else in the bank line’. Still giggling.
I have seen better fitting pants from you but these will be perfect for the cold weather – and you can still sit down which was non-negotiable 🙂

Thank you. I need the support and you are exactly right. I can sit in these and they will be warm. Sometimes in the winter I don’t care what I look like as long as I’m warm.

Looks like comfy cold-weather pants. I expect you’ll have the best fit in the bank line. You’ve got to remember that if your fit isn’t quite what you were hoping for, it’s bound to be better than ready-to-wear.

Yes indeed, I’d rather wear these than any RTW. All RTW crotches are too short and dig into my hind quarters. Not attractive. I can always wear a tunic top and long scraf if I’m going to be in public.

Comments are closed.

