5403

B5403: MOM JEANS

Written in all caps and with some pride, I present my MOM JEANS:

Granted it’s difficult to see any fitting issues. Part of the beauty of dark denim is that it hides figure flaws, fitting issues and makes the body look a little thinner.  These actually might escape the “Mom” derision because they are constructed from a dark soft denim.  Purchased at Hancocks Sioux Falls SD just 2 weeks ago and already made up as jeans on my body, they are comfortable. Just exactly what I love in jeans. If I remember correctly the fabric was described as 6 oz, 100% cotton.

To really examine the fit and hang of the jeans, I lighted the photos as much as possible:

I’ve added green arrows but most people wouldn’t even see these as issues.  There is a little too much ease on the back thigh.  The vertical wrinkles start below the widest point of my butt and extend maybe 9 inches–well short of my knee.  The side view shows the same excess ease on the back leg.  The front vertical wrinkles could be either too much ease or the fact that the front crotch is too long for this fabric. That’s an important distinction because looking at the  cotton/linen pair completed less than a week ago, those front vertical lines don’t exist and the waistband is horizontal to the floor. I also note there are still bubbles beneath the waistband, but only on the back. There is  pincheable ease along the side seams so I don’t think it’s the other possibility that of  insufficient ease causing the back crotch to creep upward.

I really nailed the seams into place and topstitched (with matching thread) so I won’t be adjusting these jeans.  I’m not too sure I should change the pattern. After all the previous pair and both shorts were G_R_E_A_T even perfect. It’s a fabric issue that I might have been able to fix had I basted side seams and waistband. Oh well live and learn.

There is one other criticism I doubt you even notice. Finishing just below the ankle, these jeans are the perfect length. I prewashed the fabric on the sanitary setting and added a dash of Retayne along with a can of coke. Then the fabric was baked on MAX for 1 hour and 30 minutes. The Retayne should keep them from fading. The coke should soften the fabric to the max and along with the hottest water and hottest dry heat, have shrunk the fabric as much as possible.  But I know from experience that denim will continue shrinking. That’s what denim does. So in 6 months to a year, these will be above the ankle and then too short for my preference.

Make no mistake, I’m wearing these jeans P R O U D L Y for as long as they are wearable. You can’t beat comfortable jeans for most of life’s activities. The question is do I want to adapt this pattern a little more, or keep it like it is?

5 thoughts on “B5403: MOM JEANS”

  1. I’m going to reread your back posts. Would you elaborate on the coke treatment for fabric ?Thanks.

    1. Eileen
      The Coke treatment was shared with me (and about 10,000 others) over at Artisans Square (Stitchers Guild). The suggestion is to use flat coke as a softener for denim fabrics. Add one can of flat coke per 2 yards of denim fabric. I have a front loading washing machine. So I pour the coke in first, add the denim; close the door and add soap in the dispenser. I run this load on the hottest setting because I want to pre-shrink denim as much as possible. The softening effect wasn’t all that noticeable on this particular cut of denim. But I’ve had other denims that softened appreciably because of the coke addition. However, I’m not a purist. If I don’t have flat coke, I use an unopened can.

Comments are closed.