sdBev's Pants!

2011-08-137 IRL (in real life)

Posted on: June 8, 2012

  • In: 2011-08-137
  • Comments Off on 2011-08-137 IRL (in real life)

Note* I meant to make this post before the I’ve got It post however life interfered so I’m doing my wearing review of not yesterday’s pants, but the pants from last week Burda 2011-08-137

My inclination is to try on pants and start tweaking the fit.  But this time, I chose to wear this pair all day; critique after having lived in them; and then determine a course of action.

My first impressions of too much ease in the front and behind the leg is still correct. This was however perfect for walking  along the beach on a sunny day.  The 100% cotton fabric no doubt contributed to the comfort of these pants.  I felt comfortable and appropriately dressed for the activity. After wearing I think the front crotch might be a smidge too long.  I’m glad I hemmed at 1.75′ instead of 1.25 and I feel perplexed.

I’m feeling perplexed because these have a cuff width of 16.5″. Nearly all patterns that are big enough to cover my rear end, also have 20″ and wider cuffs.  Marlena (wide leg, high waist) pants were popular about 2 years ago.  I didn’t make any then and don’t want any now.  Being short, I find that those wide cuffs make me look even shorter and even wider.  I will not wear a cuff wider than 20″ but finding narrower legs and cuffs is a challenge. It’s almost as if someone has decided that plus size ladies are not allowed to wear narrower cuffs. Why?

I did find that for once, I made the perfect fabric choice! Yes! I’ve had more wadders because I chose the wrong fabric for the pattern.  The soft nature of this fabric allows it to drape nicely; close to my body without outlining any body parts.  In another fabric, I might have been calling these “clown” pants. Because of the fabric, I’m thinking of them as comfortable for sunny, hot days.

In short, I like these pants.   I could work on tweaking the pattern.  But I’m really more interested in knowing if I have a repeatable success formula ie. a near fit every time.

I’ve started trolling through all my Burda issues looking for plus sized pants.  *Just a reminder, I’m not plus sized according to the charts.  I buy a size 14P or Large, but my measurements do not fit me into the plus size category either for RTW or patterns including Burda patterns.  But I need generous crotch rise and extensions.  I really am as deep as I am wide and the plus sized patterns seem to best address that figure feature.  So I’m trolling through all of my Burda collection for plus sized pants.  I find that Burda is pretty generous at always including in every issue at least one outfit for the larger sized ladies.   My sewing angel gave me several Burda Plus and Burda Special issues which are devoted entirely to the larger lady.   You’d think there would be an enormous range of styles. I’m finding that Burda uses the same patterns over and over.  Now sometimes, they are using the same style but drafted for different fabrics.  But mostly it is the same style over and over with the exact same details, for the exact same fabrics over and over.  I don’t know if Burda has decided that large ladies only buy these styles or if they decided that large ladies only look good in these styles.  It’s frustration to me to find that I have over 100  Burda styles, but really only a few different patterns. I can see why Burda Plus and Burda Style have lost readership.  What’s the point of our buying the magazine month after month.  Would I buy, over and over again, the same 5 patterns from the Big 4?

I’m feeling particularly frustrated because I want some jean styling in regular non-stretch denim.  I’d also like pants with narrower cuffs.  All I find are the same 20-27″ cuffs and trouser styling.  I’ve seen the exact same jean, in stretch denim at least 3 times.   Shorts? I can’t find anything above the knee.  Hey Burda, I don’t care if you don’t want to see my lily white legs.  When the temps hit 100+ I need to remove some fabric and cool off.  Would you rather that I just wear my bikini panties?

OK maybe I should be more generous. I don’t have every issue that Burda has ever published.  I have only about 40 issues.  I’m sure that I and many others appreciate the repetition of the best patterns.  It just seems like that number ought to be more than 5; would have many different details and  would contain styles that you might not think look good on us, but that we want to wear anyway.

