sdBev's Pants!

Does elastic really make a difference?

Posted on: April 28, 2012

originally published10/3/11

.

In the mail yesterday, I received Louise Cuttings special elastic.  I could tell immediately it was like nothing I’d ever used.  Hard to describe it is wider and softer but looks like the usual sports elastic.  I wanted to know if it really made that much of a difference. Photos below are always in this order:

Pant with the New Elastic and settled around the natural waist–Pant with old elastic pulled up in front — Pant with old elastic settled around natural waist.

Back

Photobucket Photobucket

 

Side

Photobucket Photobucket

 

Front

Photobucket Photobucket

 

OK, I could have spent more time arranging the waistband along the elastic.  I did not complete the additional rows of stitching through the elastic.  This pant is completly basted together so that it will be easy to make any changes.

 

The question is: Did using the elastic specified by the designer make a difference in how the pant looks or feels?

 

I’m not sure.  I think settling the pant waistband into my natural waistline made the most difference.  The “wrong” elastic is 1″ wide (I believe the elastic specified is 1-3/4″ wide) and I expected that to have some effect.  But both elastics are very soft.  Louise guarantees her elastic is durable.  I don’t know where I got the first elastic, or when for that matter, so I’m not sure of the quality or durability. Both elastics are comfortable and were easy to work with.   I’m quite likely to reorder and use Louise’s elastic. I do like it better than that non-roll stuff I usually use. I hated the sports elastic sold in stores.  I was reluctant to buy such a large quantity of elastic sight-unseen and totally relieved that it’s as good as Louise claims. None-the-less, I’m not sure it affected the fit of the trial pants.

