sdBev's Pants!

I have happy news..

Posted on: April 25, 2012

originally published 7/2/10

.

I have pictures to share of me in my new Burda 2010-04-118 pants, both versions; a plan for immediate sewing and a happy dance for my computer.

At times, I hate getting a new computer.  At work it seemed like I just got the old computer configured and working the way I wanted and then BOOM it was time for a new one.  The reasoning being that I, as head or high ranking IT, should experience all the horrors of the new equipment.  It was thought if IT went through the worst of it we would at least be sympathetic to the end user and quite possibly would have nearly all the bugs fixed.  At home, however, budget constraints decried a new computer every year.  The comfort of just sitting down at the computer and doing what I wanted to do without any special “work arounds” was, well novel and comforting.  I tended not to replace my home computer until it died and could not be resurrected.  However in a family who early on adopted computers as work and fun mates, I did seem to always be fixing, repairing and upgrading, just on a smaller scale and at my convenience.  Now it’s possible that I could have kept the old workstation running a little longer.  But I’d already replaced several parts, reinstalled the OS twice and was constantly monkeying with a few USB connections.  (The devices would seem to go to sleep and when they awoke, they didn’t know you anymore.  Kind of like periphereal alhizmer’s except that I could reinstall the “lost memory” by reinstalling drivers.) 

But today I’m doing the happy dance.  I bought an external bluetooth adapter and spent the next 2 hours convincing PC and Palm PDA to talk.  Son-of-a-gun, my PC was already blue tooth compatible.  Duh!  I did not read that when I looked at the configuration prior to purchase.  I probably didn’t need the external, but it’s working now so I think I will leave good enough alone.  I still have my itunes to reinstall and maybe DAK.  DAK is Desgn A Knit Professional, a very exclusive software for comminicating and directing electronic knitting machines.  It had a hefty price tag and propritary controls that won’t let it run if anything is in the least bit hinky.  That’s a topic for another place another day.  Point is I don’t have it on this computer and since I’m not using it I may resell instead of reinstall.  But today, I’m happy with my new PC.  Just need to do backups.  Just in case.  You never know.  Just in case.

Pictures, yes pictures of me in my new pants. More than just butt shots.  I dressed and styled so as to look “good” or as good as I can.

First up, the blue wool from the first copy of the pattern with tweaks to fit:

Photobucket

I wore these yesterday while shopping. Although the leg does look like a Maralene Pant, they were comfortable and didn’t feel at all swirly. Looking at the pictures, they do look wide, which is not at all what I saw being worn at the stores yesterday.  Although I prefer my unfasionably wide-leg to the “pedal pushers” I saw yesterday.  Perdal pushers is what we called them when I was a kid wearing that length pant.  They were short enough not to get caught in the spokes of your bike while pushing the pedals.  My wide leg pants allow aircirculation and some cooling.  During the winter I’d defintely be wearing tights and boots.  Deep winter would call for a legging of some kind.  But for summer the air circulation meant cooling breezes without looking shorter and dumpier than I am.  Sorry girls, I know some of you are devoted to that pant because of how it makes you feel a few degress cooler.  Go ahead and wear them.  The true use of clothing is to control the effects of local weather on our bodies.  When it gets hot, we need to remove fabric or face heat exhaution.  You do what you need to do.  But I’m going to be looking for more light weight, wide leg trousers. 

Checking the wrinkles, I’m not sure if the wrinkles are fit problems or just the extra fabric added.  I add a full inch or more to the side front and side back from waist to hem; and again a full inch at the crotch all the way from crotch to hem.  Makes a nice full leg but to the pant I’ve add at least 4 inches to each leg that wasn’t in the original design.  Since the fabric is breaking at my most prominant point in the back and falls straight in the front, I’m inclined to say fitting my body is not the issue.

Photobucket

Next is the pair from  the 2nd draft.  You have to follow this through, I made the width changes in the above paragraph to the pattern and then cut the blue pair above.  I copied the altered pattern and then applied the fitting tweaks to the 2nd copy, what I’m calling the 2nd draft.  I love these.  I will be making more.  I have an issue with the pockets.  They are rolling up and out.  I may need to top stitch them at the bottom pocket edge to keep them in place.  When I topstitched the pocket edge, I kept having to roll the pocket back inside.  I did think the top stitching the the pocket edge  along with the pocket stay, would keep the pocket in place during wear.  The pocket stay was a mere 1″ wide.  Oh and the pockets are shallow.  I could fit in a tissue, but I wouldn’t trust a key.  I will redraft the pocket to be deeper and the stay will be wider.  The stay will also then work as a tummy control panel.  Otherwise I’m pleased as punch with the fronts.  I commented in the previous post that these did not bisect my leg on the side.  In fact there is more front than back.  I’ve already altered the pattern to add 3/8″ width to the back and take 1/4″ from the front.  Why not the same.  Because the pant butt still looks a little tight to me.  There’s like a glare right off the prominant ledge.  Myabe that’s just how I’m built, but I’m at least going to try to make that a little better.  I do like these front and back.  I think they look natural.  I like this hem circumferance 21.5″ but may experiment with different leg widths.   Yesterday while I was in line, I really looked at other people’s pants, both men and women.  These pants look better than anything I saw on anybody else.  Well I should say both pairs look better than anything I saw.  I did see one pair of mid-calve pants that fit nicely.  But the short leg, made the wearer’s butt look wide.  Closer inspection revealed that the lady in question was slim, allover.  But, back to my pants.  These I’m going to wear. Make a few tweak, but basically this is the pattern for me.  Trouble is I’m still not sure what’s causing the folds of fabric in the rear.

Photobucket

Even here, where I’m “standing up straight and tall” you can still see the folds of fabric.  There just looks like too much fabric between bum and knee.  Let’s not go back to the flatt but discussion.  This is not a flat butt:

Flatt Butt

If it’s an knee issue, there should be more than enough ease in the leg.  I mean I can grasp 5″ at the knee right now.  It will be a few more days before I make another pair.  Changes for next time are

  1. add 3/8″ width to back — I may change this to 1/2″.  The back looks a little tight.
  2. subtract 1/4″ width from front
  3. redraft pocket,  deeper pocket,   wider stay
  4. Decrease 1″ above knee (brings pant knee back up to my natural knee position).
  5. subtact 1/4″ wedge from top back pant. (1/4 at crotch seam to zero at side seam)  I’m still getting a little bubble just under the waistband.  Since the pant is being held in place by both clear elastic and a belt, I’m inclined to think there’s just too much fabric. 
  6. Narrow the leg 1/2″ front and back

That will be 8 changes to the tissue.  Minor changes to be sure, but a lot of minor changes.  I’m reluctant to do much more.

